Skip to main content

NOVA Award: Show One shortlist announced

Yixiao Shao, MA Photography
Yixiao Shao, MA Photography
Yixiao Shao, MA Photography
Written by
Published date
25 May 2017

After much deliberation, the judges have come to a decision about the Show One shortlist for this year’s NOVA Awards, sponsored by MullenLowe Group.

Walking through Show One: Art, the judges – including artist Mark Titchner, Owen Pritchard, editor of It’s Nice That and Jose Miguel Sokoloff, President of MullenLowe Group Creative Council and Chief Creative Officer of MullenLowe Group UK – spent time experiencing nominated work and hearing from the graduating artists themselves.

Selected from a nominated list of 14, the four students shortlisted from Show One are: Yixiao Shao (MA Photography) and her durational performance work; Matteo Valerio (MA Fine Art) for his textile, wood and metal pieces exploring the meaning of material; Hannah Scott (MA Art and Science) who uses sculpture and installation to focus on climate change; and, Juliana Dorso (BA Fine Art) whose work combines Virginia Woolf’s A Room of One’s Own with three women at the top of major religions.

The judges will return for Show Two: Design (20-24 June) and select a further 10 students to add to the shortlist. The final winners of the 2017 NOVA Awards will be announced 6 July.

Follow the shows and the awards using #MLGNOVA #CSMcome. Show One: Art is on show to the public at Central Saint Martins, 24-28 May with Show Two: Design following 20-24 June.

More info: