skip to main content

Outreach

Student work from the 'Double Portraits' project

University of the Arts London believes that widening participation to art and design higher education is essential to nurturing the artists and designers of the future.

We work with students in partner schools and further education colleges in Greater London, whose parent(s) or guardian(s) have not completed a university degree.

We call our family of programmes and projects 'UAL Insights'.

Our approach

We design innovative learning programmes for 2 age groups: ‘pre-16’ and ‘post-16’. This means we can support students as they progress through different stages of their educational journey.

Our partnerships with schools and colleges are vital. By working together we can encourage young people to explore the range of study and career paths open to them.

Collaborations with cultural organisations and initiatives such as Autograph ABP, Cubitt Education, Camden Arts Centre, ICA and the National Arts and Design Saturday Club help us to bring together a diverse range of creative expertise and resources for our programmes and projects.

UAL Insights

All our projects start with a creative brief and access to subject area experts- UAL tutors and students (Outreach Ambassadors). They provide a space to experiment with different disciplines, techniques and processes. This enables students to discover what kind of art or design practice could suit their creative abilities and interests.

At 'pre-16' level we introduce students to a range of possible 'creative futures' through masterclasses, visits and presentations. From year 9 and 10 onwards, longer, more intense projects help pupils and students to recognise their own creative potential and prepare for the transition between different levels of creative education.

Our core ‘post-16’ programme runs across students’ 1st and 2nd year of Level 3 or A/AS Level study. Spring Schools encourage students to explore a range of disciplines before specialising in a particular subject area in our Summer Schools. During our Autumn/Winter Schools activities switch to developing portfolios and preparing for interviews in order to support students' progression to university courses.

Access Agreements

Each year universities are asked to put together a document outlining their commitment to widening participation and fair access to Higher Education.

Browse UAL's recent documents approved by the Office of Fair Access (OFFA):

Access Agreement 2018-19 (PDF)‌

Access Agreement 2017-18 (PDF)

Access Agreement 2016-17 (PDF)

Access Agreement 2015-16 (PDF)‌

Access Agreement 2014-15 (PDF)

Access Agreement 2013-14 (PDF)

Working together across UAL

Our Outreach team is based at sites across UAL’s 6 Colleges.

We are always looking to develop new projects and collaborations and welcome the chance to discuss ideas with teachers and other professionals working with young people.

Final designs from the UAL Insights Summer School in Theatre and Screen at Wimbledon College of Arts 2016.PNG

Camberwell, Chelsea and Wimbledon

Ian Thompson
Outreach Manager 
i.thompson@arts.ac.uk


Rosemary Cronin
Outreach Practitioner
r.cronin@arts.ac.uk


Luke Watson
Outreach Practitioner
l.watson@arts.ac.uk

Collaborative artwork from CSM partnership with the Institute of Anything Cubitt Education 2016.PNG

Central Saint Martins

Janey Hagger
Outreach Manager
Email: j.hagger@csm.arts.ac.uk


Berni Yates
Outreach Practitioner
Email: b.yates@csm.arts.ac.uk


James Carmody
Outreach Administrator
Email: j.carmody@csm.arts.ac.uk

Strange Fruit- final photographic work Album 2016 photo by Marielle Mata.PNG

London College of Communication

Jacqueline Chambers
Outreach Manager
j.chambers@arts.ac.uk 
+44 (0)20 7514 8553


Susannah Rees
Outreach Practitioner
s.rees@lcc.arts.ac.uk 
+44 (0)20 7514 4855


Gavin Waters
Outreach Administrator
g.waters@lcc.arts.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7514 6979


Jasmine Holland
Open Book Coordinator
j.holland@lcc.arts.ac.uk 
+44 (0)20 7514 6709

Final photoshoot image from the UAL Insights Summer School in Fashion Styling photo by Simona Chloe Yasmine Gemma Brianna Jadar & Blaise.PNG

London College of Fashion

Michele Buchanan
Senior Outreach Manager
m.buchanan@fashion.arts.ac.uk
T: 0207 514 9352


Carole Morrison
Outreach Manager (In office Mon - Wed)
c.morrison@fashion.arts.ac.uk
T: 0207 515 9350


Armando Azevedo
Outreach Practitioner
a.azevedo@arts.ac.uk
T: 0207 514 9639


Tina Snowdon
Outreach Administrator
t.snowdon@fashion.arts.ac.uk
T: 0207 514 8653