Skip to main content

Charitable status

The information listed below relates to the university's charitable status and is required by our regulator, the OfS (Office for Students).

Exempt charity

As a Higher Education Corporation, the university is an exempt charity for the purposes of the Charities Act (1993). As a result, the university isn’t required to register with the Charity Commission and so has no registered charity number. 

With the implementation of the Higher Education and Research Act (2017), the OfS became the principal regulator under charity law for the university. The OfS is responsible to the Charity Commission for the regulatory duties it takes on in relation to the Charities Act (1993). The university isn't a charitable company.

Legal title

The university’s correct legal title is University of the Arts London. It's usually abbreviated in legal documents to UAL. Our full correspondence address is: 

University of the Arts London 
272 High Holborn 

The university has 6 constituent Colleges, but they don't have separate legal status:

  • Camberwell College of Arts
  • Central Saint Martins
  • Chelsea College of Arts
  • London College of Communication
  • London College of Fashion
  • Wimbledon College of Arts

The governing body

University of the Arts London (UAL) is a corporate body created by statute. Its governing body is the Court of Governors.

Key reference documents about the university's legal status and governing body are available to read on the public information section of our website or on the Court of the Governor page. We have information about becoming an external member of the university's governing body. Governors are the university's trustees.

We publish a list of the membership of the Court of Governors 2023 (PDF 133KB) which includes a list of other trusteeships held by our governors.

Further biographical details about our governors can be found on the Governors: Who's Who page.