Skip to main content

Your creative future starts here:


UAL to present Honorary Awards to powerhouse creative figures

honouraries 2019
Written by
Anna Tsekouras
Published date
08 July 2019

Iconic, avant-garde fashion artists, Viktor & Rolf; seminal patron of design talent and first female executive of world-leading crystal manufacturer, Nadja Swarovski; visionary director of global art and culture brand, Aesthetica, Cherie Federico; and multi-award-winning British choreographer and director, Wayne McGregor CBE are among 15 world-leading creative figures to be given honorary awards by University of the Arts this year.

They will be recognised for their outstanding contributions to the creative industries at UAL’s Graduation Ceremonies at the Royal Festival Hall from 16 – 19 July 2019.  Victor & Rolf said

"Well it’s a tremendous honour and it was also quite a surprise but it’s wonderful "

Hailing her UAL doctorate as one of the proudest moments of her career, Nadja Swarovski reflects on her long-standing relationship with Central Saint Martins’ fashion and jewellery departments, and says:

"To see these young students so connected to the trends, their fingers on the pulse of what’s happening, it’s amazing. The College emphasises design as a universal language that transcends culture, class, age group. The institution really is preparing these students to be amazing ambassadors for a more unified world."

Upon hearing the news of receiving this honorary doctorate, McGregor noted its importance 

"especially because of the ethos and work of the university around collaborative practise, endeavour, entrepreneurship and innovation" – hallmarks that have long been associated with his own work as an artist. "

Former Creative Practitioner in Residence at the London College of Fashion, Cherie Federico has worked extensively with the London College of Communication to produce the annual Next Generation photography feature, plus host its annual sell-out film Showcase Screening. She was also instrumental in the launch of the hugely successful London College of Communication’s Screen School VR Lab at the Aesthetica Short Film Festival 2018, which will be expanding in 2019 to include Immersive Experiences, AR and Gaming.

Upon being recognised by UAL, Cherie said: 

"Receiving this award is a dream come true."

Full list of Honoraries for 2019

Haroon Mirza

Margot Heller OBE


Wayne McGregor CBE

Naomi Donne

Matthew Xia

Viktor Horsting

Rolf Snoeren

Morag Myerscough RDI

Richard Hollis

Mieke Bal

Nadja Swarovski

Sarah Weir OBE

Cherie Frederico

Domenic Lippa

The ceremonies will also be attended by UAL’s Chancellor, Grayson Perry who will be wearing robes designed by London College of Fashion, MA Costume Design for Performance student, Rachele Terrinoni.

The ceremonies will be streamed live online and live-tweeted under the hashtag #UALGrads.