Skip to main content

2015 CTPA awards to Cosmetic Science students


Written by
Published date
09 March 2015

The UK cosmetic industry, via its trade organisation Cosmetic Toiletries and Perfumery Association (CTPA), has awarded the best Cosmetic Science students at LCF for the 15th consecutive year.


Back row: Jessica Moody (year 1 winner), Prof. Danka Tamburic, Aimee Nottingham (year 1 winner) Front row: Zahrah Fazil (year 3 winner), Amanda Isom (CTPA), Gabriela Daniels (Programme Director: Science) and Dr Mustafa Varcin (Course Leader MSc Cosmetic Science)

The awards ceremony took place on 26th January 2015 at LCF and was attended by Amanda Isom, Technical Affairs Manager at CTPA. Amanda, who handed out the awards worth £6,000 in total, said that CTPA was proud to be associated with this unique and high-quality course, which educates cosmetic scientists of the future.

It is customary that each year of the course produces two winners, except where the achievement is so similar that it is impossible to distinguish between the two worthy students. For the best performance in year 1, the winners were Aimee Nottingham and Jessica Moody (both pictured), while year 2 produced one best improver – Madeleine Simmons, and a shared award for the best student – Jasmine Lim and Sarah Smiley. All three year 2 winners are currently on industrial placement and were unable to attend, although Jasmine had sent a video message from her placement in Singapore. Helen Sisson and Zahrah Fazil (pictured) were awarded the best placement project report and the best presentation prize, respectively. Professor Danka Tamburic thanked CTPA for their unwavering support since the BSc Cosmetic Science (now integrated MSc) has started in 2000. It was an important pillar of support during a slow and steady process of building the reputation of the new course.