skip to main content

Essential coronavirus info
Your safety is our first priority.

Language centre

IELTS Prep (Online)

IELTS Prep (Online)
Level
IELTS band 4.5 and above

Prepare for your next academic IELTS exam with our 4-week intensive online preparation course.

Why choose IELTS Prep (Online)?

IELTS Online is an intensive course aimed at preparing you for the Academic IELTS exam, developed and taught by the Language Centre at University of the Arts London (UAL).

Each week of the course will focus on 2 topics that prepare you for your IELTS exam. You will have lots of opportunities to develop and practise all 4 IELTS skills, with a skills test each week to check your progress.

As well as live classes and self-study sessions, you will also have tutorials with your teacher to give you feedback and guidance in your learning.

At the end of the course there will be a full IELTS practice exam with individual feedback.

Our online lessons are taught by friendly and experienced teachers. The learning platforms we use let students work together and learn in a classroom environment, which is important when studying at home. We also offer learning and wellbeing support from our student support team.

Upcoming course dates:

Autumn 2021

  • Monday 27 September - Friday 22 October
  • Monday 25 October - Friday 19 November
  • Monday 22 November - Friday 17 December

English level

This course has 2 levels:

Lower

Equivalent to:

  • CEFR A2-B1
  • Pre-intermediate / lower-intermediate
  • IELTS 4.5-5

Higher

Equivalent to:

  • CEFR B1+-B2
  • Intermediate / upper-intermediate
  • IELTS 5.5 +

When you apply for the course, you will have an online interview with one of our teachers who will then assign your level. You do not need an IELTS score to apply.

Course description

Our IELTS Online course is ideal for you if you want to:

  • Improve your IELTS score.
  • Prepare for your Academic IELTS exam.
  • Support your application for a degree or Pre-sessional English with an improved IELTS score.
  • Do practice IELTS tests, learn IELTS exam skills and build your confidence.
  • Study vocabulary and grammar around IELTS topics.
  • Learn from experienced, friendly and knowledgeable teachers.
  • Get involved in virtual UAL life through social events and activities.

Sample schedules

You can view a sample week 1 schedule as a PDF: IELTS Online sample schedule (PDF 142KB)

Please note: this is an example and may change. When you have booked your place you will receive your confirmed schedule.

Assessment

At the end of the course you will take an official practice IELTS test. You will receive a Record of Study and Achievement certificate with your test results. You will also be given feedback on your work.

Hours a week

15 hours a week for 4 weeks. This includes:

  • 10 hours of live classes: 10am-12pm Monday to Friday, GMT/BST.
  • 5 hours of independent study.

Dates and fees

Dates

Autumn 2021

  • Monday 27 September - Friday 22 October
  • Monday 25 October - Friday 19 November
  • Monday 22 November - Friday 17 December

Spring 2022

  • Monday 10 January - Friday 4 February
  • Monday 7 February - Friday 3 March
  • Monday 7 March - Friday 1 April
  • Monday 4 April  - Friday 29 April

Summer 2022

  • Monday 2 May - Friday 27 May
  • Monday 30 May - Friday 24 June
  • Monday 27 June - Friday 22 July
  • Monday 25 July -  Friday 19 August

Autumn 2022

  • Monday 5 September - Friday 30 September
  • Monday 3 October - Friday 28 October
  • Monday 31 October - Friday 25 November

Fees

  • £1,080 per 4-week course.

How to apply

To apply for this course check how to apply and then go to our application form.

Questions? Please email us.

Sign-up to our emails to stay up to date on our courses and news.

Download our English Language Preparation Courses brochure.

Please note: you must be at least 18 years old to study at UAL Language Centre.

You might also be interested in...