skip to main content

Essential coronavirus info
We can’t wait to welcome our new and returning students from 19 October 2020. Your safety is our first priority.

illustrative only

Test Lab (PhD) - Interest Group

Written by Post-Grad Community
Published date 25 September 2019
Test Lab, in collaboration with the Doctoral Platform at Central Saint Martins, invites all UAL PhD students to attend and participate to a series of bi-weekly presentations.

Test lab is a series of practice seminars for research students at University of the Arts London. It is based in the Art Programme at Central Saint Martins. Test Lab is a practice seminar where one, two or three doctoral students present their ongoing practice and/or research followed by a group discussion.

All UAL research students are invited to take part by either presenting their work or responding to the work of others. For the artists, philosophers, designers, performers, makers and curators who comprise this seminar, Test Lab is an opportunity to discuss practice based research, and making as thinking. It is also space to practice and rehearse for the confirmation meeting or for a viva.

Currently, and until further notice, all Test Lab sessions are online, on Zoom. Permanent Zoom link for the Autumn term 2020

NOTE:. If you are interested in these seminars and would like to find out more, please get in touch. You are also warmly invited to attend the Art of Questioning seminar that runs on alternate Wednesdays to Test Lab

Test Lab is organised and run by Dr Daniel Rubinstein. d.rubinstein@csm.arts.ac.uk

Test Lab dates 2020/2021

  • Wednesday 7 October 2020 (2.30pm to 4.30pm)
  • Wednesday 21 October 2020 (2.30pm to 4.30pm)
  • Wednesday 04 November 2020 (2.30pm to 4.30pm)
  • Wednesday 18 November 2020 (2.30pm to 4.30pm)
  • Wednesday 02 December 2020 (2.30pm to 4.30pm)
  • Wednesday 16 December 2020 (2.30pm to 4.30pm)
  • Wednesday 13 January 2021 (2.30pm to 4.30pm)
  • Wednesday 27 January 2021 (2.30pm to 4.30pm)
  • Wednesday 10 February 2021 (2.30pm to 4.30pm)
  • Wednesday 24 February 2021 (2.30pm to 4.30pm)
  • Wednesday 10 March 2021 (2.30pm to 4.30pm)
  • Wednesday 24 March 2021 (2.30pm to 4.30pm)
  • Wednesday 14 April 2021 (2.30pm to 4.30pm)
  • Wednesday 28 April 2021 (2.30pm to 4.30pm)
  • Wednesday 12 May 2021 (2.30pm to 4.30pm)
  • Wednesday 26 May 2021 (2.30pm to 4.30pm)
  • Wednesday 09 June 2021 (2.30pm to 4.30pm)

Post-Grad Interest Groups at UAL

A growing number of issue specific, cross-disciplinary interest groups led by postgraduate students and academics are supported by us.​

​These groups connect creatives with shared research interests across different subject areas.​