skip to main content

Essential coronavirus info
We are continuing to welcome our new and returning students. Your safety is our first priority.

Honorary Awards 2017

Super-star set designer, Es Devlin, TV personality and activist, June Sarpong, Director of Tate Modern, Frances Morris and global game figurehead, Rhianna Pratchett are among 12 leading figures in the creative and cultural sectors to be given honorary awards by UAL in 2017.

They were recognised for their outstanding contributions to the creative industries at UAL’s graduation ceremonies at the Royal Festival Hall.

Portrait of David Carter CBE
David Carter CBE - Honorary Fellow

David Carter CBE

Founder of DCA and one of the UK’s most decorated designers.

Neisha Crosland - Honorary Fellow

Neisha Crosland

World-renowned designer whose work graces high-end fashion, interiors and film sets.

Es Devlin OBE - Honorary Fellow

Es Devlin OBE

Acclaimed set-designer for everyone from the Royal Ballet to Beyonce.

Peter Firmin - Honorary Fellow

Peter Firmin

Celebrated artist behind television classics Bagpuss and The Clangers.

Nigel Hall RA - Honorary Doctor

Nigel Hall RA

Award-winning artist who has exhibited in more than 100 solo shows across the world.

Sung-Joo Kim OBE - Honorary Doctor (centre) at MCM 40th Anniversary Event (with Paolo Fontanelli, Claudia Schiffer and Michael Michalsky)

Sung-Joo Kim OBE

CEO of Sungjoo Group and MCM Holding AG.

Kwame Kwei-Armah OBE - Honorary Fellow

Kwame Kwei-Armah OBE

Celebrated director, actor, playwright, singer and former UAL Chancellor.

Nicola Mendelsohn CBE - Honorary Doctor

Nicola Mendelsohn CBE

Facebook’s Vice President of Europe, the Middle East and Africa.

Frances Morris - Honorary Doctor

Frances Morris

Director of the Tate Modern

Rhianna Pratchett - Honorary Fellow (centre) with writers John Stafford and Cameron Suey, winners of the Outstanding Achievement in Videogame Writing award for 'Rise of the Tomb Raider, 2016 Writers Guild Awards in Los Angeles, California

Rhianna Pratchett

Award-winning game writer behind Tomb Raider.

Caroline Rush CBE - Honorary Doctor (right)

Caroline Rush CBE

CEO of the British Fashion Council.

June Sarpong MBE - Honorary Doctor

June Sarpong MBE

TV Personality, Author and Activist.