UAL Vice-Chancellor's Postgraduate International Scholarships

Ten scholarships worth £25,000 each are available to applicants meeting eligibility criteria.


  • You must have applied to study a full-time taught masters course at one of UAL’s six Colleges starting in the academic year of 2016/17. Your course must offer either an MA, MDes, MFA, MRes or MSc qualification.

    Postgraduate Certificate (PgCert), Graduate Diploma, Postgraduate Diploma, M ARCH, MBA, distance learning, blended learning and online courses do not qualify. Read our list of qualifying courses. 

    In addition, if you already hold a postgraduate taught qualification from studies undertaken in the UK or abroad, you are not eligible to apply for a UAL Vice-Chancellor’s Postgraduate Scholarship.
  • You must be ordinarily resident in one of the low income countries detailed at the bottom of this page. In your application you’ll be asked to evidence with documentation that you are ordinarily resident in a qualifying country. For example you may be asked for a copy of your immigration documents, ID card or formal evidence of your address.  

  • Acceptance of the scholarship offer is on the condition that you will return to your home country on completion of your taught masters course.

If you were offered a place on a qualifying full-time taught masters course in 2015/16 but chose to defer your place to start in the academic year of 2016/17 instead, you can apply for a UAL Vice-Chancellor’s Postgraduate Scholarship. You must meet all of the eligibility criteria and your deferral request to start your course in 2016/17 must have been accepted by UAL.

If you were offered a UAL Vice-Chancellor’s Postgraduate Scholarship in 2015/16 but chose not to accept the award, you can re-apply for a 2016/17 scholarship if you meet the eligibility criteria. Please be aware that because you were offered an award in 2015/16 this does not guarantee you will also be a successful applicant in 2016/17. You will be subject to the same application and allocation process as all other eligible applicants.

Award Allocation 

Scholarships will be awarded by a UAL selection panel. The panel will make their decision based on a review of the personal statements provided as part of the UAL Vice-Chancellor’s International Postgraduate Scholarships application process.

Your completed UAL Vice-Chancellor’s Postgraduate Scholarship application form and supporting evidence must be submitted by 4pm BST on Wednesday 1 June 2016.

You will receive notification of the outcome of your scholarship application following confirmation that you have been offered a place on your chosen taught masters course. 


The first step is to register your interest using our online form. In the form we'll ask you to confirm that you meet the eligibility criteria required to apply. Once we've reviewed your details we'll send you an email letting you know what to do next. 

Register your interest

Qualifying Countries

You need to be ordinarily resident in one of the low income economy countries listed below to begin to meet the eligibility criteria for a UAL Vice-Chancellor's International Postgraduate Scholarship award.

  • Afghanistan
  • Armenia
  • Bangladesh
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cabo Verde
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Central Africa Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of Korea (North Korea)
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Ghana
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Kosovo
  • Kyrgyz Republic
  • Lao PDR
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Moldova
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Republic of Yemen
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sri Lanka       
  • Sudan
  • Swaziland
  • Syrian Arab Republic
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vietnam
  • West Bank and Gaza Strip
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

This will reveal more about: Qualifying Countries Hide

This will show less about: Qualifying Countries Show all countries