National Teaching Fellowship

Staff demonstrating technical process
Image courtesy of UAL

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) celebrates excellent practice and outstanding achievement in learning and teaching in higher education.

No matter what stage of your career you are at, success in achieving this award depends on teaching excellence. Presented at a prestigious ceremony, attracting national and regional media interest, the awards support individuals’ professional development in learning and teaching.

Each year, NTFS makes about 50 individual awards of £10,000 to recognise individual excellence. The Teaching and Learning Exchange manages the selection and support of up to 3 UAL nominees per year.  

We’re proud to have 5 National Teaching Fellows at UAL: Terry Finnigan (2010), Professor Susan Orr (2010), Heather Barnett (2012), Dr. Pratap Rughani (2013), and Dr. Alison James (2014).

Application deadline

Applications are currently closed. You can find further information about the scheme’s criteria on the Higher Education Academy (HEA) website.